Lifelong Learning

The whole point of this entry is to discuss ACL’s lifelong learning program.  One of the first assignments for this program is to write a blog discussing the 7.5 habits of lifelong learners.

The 7.5 habits are as follows:
1. Begin with the end in mind
2. Accept responsibility for your own learning
3. View problems as challenges
4. Have confidence in yourself as a competent, effective learner
5. Create your own learning toolbox
6. Use technology to your advantage
7. Teach/mentor others
7.5. Play

For me, the most difficult of these habits is play.  I find that I allow myself to become so involved in doing that I don’t remember to relax and enjoy myself.  Having my nieces and nephew around forces me to see things from their eyes, and reminds me that playing is a perfectly acceptable way of learning.  Even still, I have to remember to play.

The rest of these habits are all pretty easy for me, but the easiest is knowing that I am a competent, effective learner.  My friends and family have always told me that I am smart.  I think it’s really important for kids (and adults!) to hear that kind of affirmation.  If you hear something often enough you’ll believe it’s true.

Enough for now!   I have to get back to work!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2007
    S M T W T F S
        Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives