Holiday Prep

I’m exhausted!!!

After working for 5 hours today, I headed over to Mom’s to do the holiday prep for my house and hers.  This involved:

  • Baking 2 batches of cookies (chocolate chip and peanut butter) and 2 loaves of banana nut bread to put in tins for gifts.  This was the only prep I needed to do for myself…
  • Cooking dinner
  • Cleaning up after these projects
  • Sweeping and mopping the floors in all public areas (entry, dining room, living room, kitchen, hallway, and bathroom)
  • Cleaning the bathroom since I felt dirty using it
  • Moving the livingroom furniture back into some kind of arrangement
  • Putting the presents under the tree, as opposed to strewn about mom’s house
  • Scrubbing the kitchen counter, stove, and washing dishes (I’m resting before I tackle the outside of the fridge)

I gave up before I got to the diningroom table, and the part of the counter that’s being used as temporary storage for breakables.  This was all done while a dog followed me around and generally got in my way.

I’m pooped!  And this was only the cleaning for Mom’s house!  I’ll be dealing with my house sometime this weekend, but it’ll be easier because I’ve been able to do a lot of this gradually over the week.

A big part of the problem with Mom’s house is that I’m the only one that cleans it.  I don’t live there, but I clean it and cook in it.  My mother is disabled and can’t clean it.  I’ve found it excessively difficult to keep up with the cleaning for both households.  A lot of the things I would have done when I was bored or as I thought of it haven’t been taken care of at mom’s house.  Those things add up.  But I got most of them done.  There are really only 2 or 3 left, but I’m not willing to do any more tonight.  Maybe I’ll do it tomorrow, before company comes over. 

It’s funny, as I did all this cleaning, I found myself instinctively only doing each room for 15 minutes at a time.  I’d do one task for 15 minutes, and then move on to the next, and the next…  It’s something I’ve picked up from FlyLady.  I’ll explain more in a different post.  So, even though it was 4 hours worth of cleaning, and 3 hours worth of baking, it wasn’t so bad. 

2 Comments

  1. Ha! the FlyLady is talking about bathrooms this week. And somehow I have let mine become a disaster. usually I make a list of stuff that I need to get done, but today I making a list what I have done, so I can see what I have accomplished. Today is one of those days when I can only do things if I think of 5 to 15 minute jobs – and not the big one.

  2. I’ve been forgetting to do the morning swish-n-swipe. I looked at my own toilet today and was confused as to why it was gross. Can anyone say “duh”? Today has been a series of 2-5 minute jobs. Anything more than that and I feel overwhelmed.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2007
    S M T W T F S
        Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives