Resolutions

Well, it’s New Year’s Eve.  Tomorrow will be the day that so many people make impossible goals for themselves… AKA New Year’s Resolutions.  What makes these goals so impossible to achieve?  Have you ever really thought about it?  Well, let’s think about it for a second…

When you make a resolution, all you’re really doing is “beginning with the end in mind.”  Somewhere in between the beginning and the end we deviate from our track. 

Were our goals unspecific?  (I will lose weight)
Did we make the goal too outlandish? (I will lose 300 pounds this year)
Was our plan unreasonable? (I will only eat orange foods on Monday, yellow on Tuesday, light green on Wednesday…)

So, the moral of the story is that goals should be specific, reasonable, with a well thought out plan.

3 Comments

  1. so…. any resolutions?

  2. Me? Naaahhh… I usually start my resolutions in October. I know, I know, I’m kinda insane that way. They usually have to do with 3 major things: health, money, organization. How ’bout you?

  3. Well, I won’t call them resolutions. I have new habits and plans. Habits are minor things that will give minor improvements to my daily life. Hopefully, they are life long. Plans are bigger – and might be able to be broken down into steps. They are more like projects, – with a beginning and an end- not quite so life long.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2007
    S M T W T F S
        Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives