Elluminate

I finally finished the Elluminate orientation session for the SLIS New Student Technology Workshop (NSTW).  Yay!

Elluminate is an online program that allows its users to interact with one another in realtime.  Only one person may talk at a time, but others can use the “raise hand” function to ask for permission to talk.  That function is cool because it keeps track of who raised their hand first – very democratic.  It also has a polling function, and a whiteboard, and emoticons.  This program is especially useful for those of us that attend classes online, business meetings, or for group work.  Since the majority of SJSU’s SLIS program is online, I really had to learn how to use Elluminate.  I’m glad I did.

The program itself was easy to use, but it seemed to hiccup on occasion.  I’m not sure if that was a problem with the program itself, or if it was a problem with my mom’s wireless internet…  but it wasn’t terrible. 

It was strange, though, that out of 26 people, I was the only one that actually worked in a library, and I was one of the few that was planning to work at least part time while attending school.

Alright, off to learn more new technology…

4 Comments

  1. no lack of learning in your life

  2. have you ever tried yugma(https://www.yugma.com)? sounds like they do the same type of thing as elluminate. i’m not sure how much that costs, but yugma has a free service for up to 10 people. and right now, they’re doing a promotion for bloggers. it’s worth a check out…the details are here: http://www.yugma.com/blog/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=261&Itemid=1

    good luck!

  3. There isn’t much choice for me as far as whether to use Yugma or Elluminate. I have to use Elluminate for school, but they both seem to do similar things.

  4. I had a wonderful experience in L School, but reading what you are doing makes me want more! I had not worked in the library before or during my graduate school. I was most surprised about the work hours. “You mean I have to work Saturdays! and Sunday?!! Silly me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives