School: midsemester

Well, it’s been a week since Spring Break and school is still going full-swing.  So far it’s a lot like my undergrad work, except completely online and with a lot more papers to write.  Have you ever done group work online?  It’s an experience to say the least…

Either way, I realized it’s been a while since I blogged about anything, so I thought I’d blog about the strategic plan my group wrote for the Library Management class.  My group members were separated by huge distances, so we made a fictional library to get around the required visitations we would have to do with a real library.  It was a lot of work!  We figured out community demographics, collection size, square footage, patron and staff concerns – the works!  Then we looked at what needed to be improved in our fictional library (we called it Kichalda Library by the way) and wrote out a strategic plan to meet the Kichalda citizens’ library needs.  Our plan ended up being 41 pages long, including the cover page and references!  Can you imagine?  Our jaws dropped when we realized how big that document finally became.

The next step is to formulate operational plans to meet the goals identified within our plan.  We’re still trying to figure out what, exactly, the professor wants from us.  I’m sure our plans will be awesome!

My library database class has been the most difficult of the three I’m taking this semester.  The book is very technical and doesn’t always go along with the professor’s lectures.  This makes it quite difficult to figure out what I need to know for the tests and assignments.  The wording is inconsistent (book vs lectures vs tests vs assignments), and the professor does not use proper grammar or punctuation on the tests.  I figured this class would be the easiest, but these issues are definitely changing my view on the matter.  The next assignment for this class requires that my group makes a thesaurus for the database we’ve been designing.  It’s definitely more difficult than it sounds.

The information and society class is a trip.  Every week we’re reading and commenting on at least 4 or 5 articles, but I don’t feel like I’m learning as much as I could about the topic.  The articles are usually interesting and easy to read.  Unfortunately the authors don’t always back up their ideas, nor do they offer the opposing point of view.  The next paper for this class is due on Saturday.  I’ll have to write about a Library and Information Science organization.  We’ll see how well that goes.

So that’s my school life in a nutshell.  I’m super busy with all the reading and writing the professors require this semester… but I only have about a month to go!  Yay!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives