Operational Plan

I’m sitting here at my favorite coffee shop, Eon Coffee, and enjoying the beautiful weather, good food and awesome coffee, all while trying to do my homework.  For this particular assignment I must create an operational plan for one department based upon the 41-page strategic plan my group wrote for the fictional Kichalda Library.  It’s a bit more difficult than I thought.

I’m having some problems because the library is fictional.  It sounds silly to say this, but with a “real” library I would be able to tell what measures are already in place, and I could see how they might be changed to achieve the critical success factors.  With a fictional library… well, I can make up anything I want and it’ll be right.  It’s a bit daunting.

So, I need to look at how the Kichalda Library’s circulation services department can help with:

  • finding/receiving supplementary funding
  • creating a welcoming atmosphere
  • mentoring and empowering youth through technology
  • expanding volunteerism/awareness
  • increase communication between patrons and staff
  • improve customer service and staff morale

Sounds like a lot of work to me, but I know it’ll definitely be useful for my library career.  One thing’s for sure, very little of this program so far is theoretical, and I appreciate it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives