First days

As many of you may know, I was recently promoted to Library Circulation Supervisor. (Monday was my first day!) This is my first managerial position, so there’s a lot of push to make sure that I know the “County way” of doing things and don’t fall into any bad habits.  As a result, I spent the last two days in Library Administration learning who the people are, what they do, and what they expect of me.  You’d think that after 5 years, I’d know some of these people, but there were quite a few that I’d only met once (if that).  I really appreciated the chance to sit down with them for a while.  Next week I get to do more…  then I have sexual harassment training and more orientation the week after that.  Then a couple weeks later there’s more training.  It’s a lot of work, but I’m glad that they’re offering these chances.

 

My first couple of days were spent at the branch getting my bearings, setting up my desk, computer, phone, and learning who everyone is.  I feel bad because there are a few names that I keep forgetting.  That usually happens when two people are introduced to me at the same time, or if they have really similar names, or if they look very similar.  I know I’ll learn them in time, but it would help if they all wore name tags.  So far my staff seems very nice and welcoming, let’s hope it all continues!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives