Mom day 3

Mom’s home, and starting to get settled in. When she needs help getting out of bed or getting to the bathroom she calls for her mom. Today she argued with me about whether she had children. On the plus side, she only asked for cigarettes for 1 hour, instead of the 4 hours straight she did last night.

Showering was an adventure – I got as wet as she did. That’s to be expected since I’m still learning how to help her in the shower. I think it’d be easier in the tub/shower combo rather than the stall shower but my sister and I thought we’d try the stall shower first since the occupational therapist said that it would be more secure for her. The stall will probably be better once we switch the showerhead out for a hand-held dealie.

I’ve been having her walk everywhere she needs to go (with me and the walker of course) instead of riding in the wheel chair. I consider it a little bit of exercise for her, which will help bring her blood sugar down. It also has the added benefit of making her think twice before moving from one room to another.

Alright, I need to get back to homework (2 finals and an extended due date paper due on Sunday), housework, laundry, and taking care of mom…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives