Out with the old…

And in with the new, right?  Well, sorta.

This is where I’m supposed to reflect on the things that happened during the past year, both good and bad.  I was promoted twice in two months and I made my tenure, my hunny got a nifty new job too.  I’ve been to Disneyland twice this year; once with friends and once with my sister (pictures of the sister trip on Flickr).  I’ve been to Vegas a couple of times too.  I got As and Bs in all my courses, and I only have 7 classes more to take.  I also took care of my mom, and made sure that this holiday was the best I could make it.

  • Well, Christmas was pretty OK with all things considered.  I spent time with family and friends, had nice presents under the tree, and ate a lot of food.  I’ve got to get back on the fitness and health bandwagon.
  • I got the scores back on my final papers for this semester.  One was a 15 page research paper that I finished in 2 days… research included.  My score? 29 out of 30!  The other was a mini IMLS grant proposal.  I got a perfect score!  The teacher said that my abstract was “concise and compellingly written.”  That one I wrote while taking care of my mom. 
  • Since I’ve got a couple of weeks off before the Spring 2009 semester, I’ve been working on some stuff at home.  Mostly taking down the Christmas tree and cleaning.  My house has been neglected with all the rest of the craziness that’s been going on.  The house is now back to normal, but I miss all the decorations – it all looks so plain now.  No more twinkling lights or sparkly garlands.  *sigh*  Oh well, they’ll be back in November or December.

I don’t know what the next year will bring.  I know that there will be more adjustments around my mom and her care.  I also know that I’ll continue working hard on my education.  We’ll be opening the new Library in the fall, which will bring a ton of stress into my life and that of my staff.  I can’t wait to see it

3 Comments

  1. Way to go Dani! Not that I am surprised or anything. So, do you think once you have your degree will you be switching over to the librarian side?

  2. Only you would do better with more on your plate! congratulations! But, as Susan said, no real surprise

  3. Susan: Switching over to the librarian side (Is that anything like the dark side? 😉 seems like the way to go, at least for a little bit. Daniel says that I should go back to get an AS in web design so that I have a firm foundation in computer-ness.

    Beth: maybe it all has to do with focus? Like when there’s so much to do you have to focus on everything all at once to get it done…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives