On the Wagon

Well, I’m on the diet wagon again.  It’s not just because it’s new years either.

I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and remembering back to the days when I was healthier.  I wasn’t always tired back then.  I was also about 25 pounds lighter.  And even before that, I was 25 pounds lighter, and I could pick up and carry my brother, who was about 100 pounds lighter than he is now.  What did I do differently back then?

I remember going to the gym 6 days a week, and spending at least 30 minutes there.  I’d use the elliptical machine every time I went, and I’d lift weights Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I was careful with what I ate, and made sure to avoid fried, fatty, oily, and cheesy foods.  I drank a LOT of water too.  But somewhere in the past 5 years, I slowed down, stopped paying attention to my food intake, and pretty much stopped exercising.

I kept a food journal for a week.  It was an average week filled with all the ups and downs of normal life; school, work, and family life were all included.  Do you know I injested 2800 calories and who knows how much fat?  Even with this, my blood pressure was excellent, my cholesterol was great, and my glucose levels were good.  Looking at my family health history, I doubt that would have gone on much longer.

So, on Monday, I cut back to 1800 calories and no more than 60 grams of fat per day.  I cut back to 1 cup of coffee each day too.  I’ve done step aerobics on my Wii for 30 minutes on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.  I missed Thursday because I didn’t get home til late, but then I did an hour on Friday.  I found my free weights, and did weight training on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday (I’m a bit sore).  Then today, I danced with my nephew, and did a little lower body work with him.  I still need to Wii for 30 minutes though.  I don’t know if I’ve lost any weight, but I feel better.

I’ve also been sleeping for about 8 hours every night.  I know that probably won’t last once school starts up again, but I’ll have the foundations at least.  I feel better, and, since I’m on a sleep schedule, I can tell when it’s getting close to bedtime.  Like now, it’s 10PM and I’m feeling a bit sleepy.

I also started taking Alli.  I know, I know, it’s a diet pill.  I really thought about it though.  I spent a lot of time looking at what I’d need to do to follow their plan.  I looked for side effects for those with heart defects and asthma, but I couldn’t find any.  I think it’ll work for me.  At the very least it’ll keep me on track with eating right, since eating too much fat while taking Alli will cause oily diarrhea.

OK, time for the Wii.  I need to get 30 minutes in before I hit the hay.  I have to be up early tomorrow to go grocery shopping and take care of mom…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives