Andrew Wyeth

I learned today that Andrew Wyeth passed away. His most famous painting was called “Christina’s World.” It was an image of a young girl wearing a pink dress lying in a field with a farmhouse in the distance. Those words don’t describe it adequately though. There was such isolation and sadness in that picture.

Any number of explanations could have been made as to why the girl was lying in the field so far away from the building. Every time I saw that painting, I would try to imagine what the girl was running to or from. Did she fall asleep out in the field? Was she spying on something at the farm? It was one of those paintings I remember from my American Modern Art class because it made me think so much.  In reality, Wyeth painted that picture of his paralyzed neighbor in Maine.

I learned about other art and artists in that class too, but this painting was one of the few that I remembered.  I should purchase a print of it some day.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives