Spicy Turkey Chili

One of my most favorite cookbooks was discarded from my branch’s collection last week (The Complete Quick & Hearty Diabetic Cookbook ISBN 1-58-040285-2).  Some of the pages were stuck together because a patron spilled food in it.  On the one hand this sucks for our collection, but on the other it was a boon for me.  The book was discarded, I paid the Friends, and happily took my damaged cookbook home.  I wasn’t worried about the pages that were stuck together.  Both pages had recipes for things that I didn’t think I’d ever cook.

Since my Summer classes end tomorrow, I finally have a chance to cook a real meal.  It’s been hard this semester, and I must say that I’m sick of the fast food, canned food, frozen food…  Today I prepared Spicy Turkey Chili (page 79, but I put it below if you can’t find the book) with corn bread, salad, and grapes.  I was a bit trepidatious.  My hunny doesn’t tend to like chili, and I haven’t found a recipe for turkey chili that I liked.  But, I figured if it sucked, there was always Taco Bell.

It was really good!!!  I ended up halving the recipe because it’s just my hunny and me.  We played rock-paper-scissors to see which one of us got to take the leftovers to work tomorrow, and who was stuck with a turkey sandwich.  Sadly, I lost. 

I liked that it had a lot of flavor.  It was smoky, and spicy, and not at all bland.  My hunny thought it had a good balance of tomato and spices.  We both agreed that it wasn’t too soupy.  It’s a recipe we both recommend.  Too bad I didn’t come up with it myself…

Spicy Turkey Chili

  • 2 onions chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey breast
  • 2 cups kidney or pinto beans (I used white beans)
  • 2 cups canned tomatoes with liquid
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • Fresh ground pepper
  1. In a large saucepan, saute the onion, garlic and green pepper in the oil for 10 minutes. Add the turkey and saute until the turkey is cooked, about 5-10 minutes. Drain any fat.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients, bring to a boil, lower the heat, and simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.  Add additional chili powder if you like your chili extra spicy

Nutritional info
6 Servings (1 cup each)

Exchanges
1 1/2 starch
2 lean meat

Calories 220
Calories from fat 32
Total Fat 4 g
Saturated fat 1 g
Cholesterol 51 mg
Sodium 175 mg
Total Carbohydrate 23 g
Dietary fiber 5 g
Sugars 5 g
Protein 25 g

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives