Busy, busy librarian-to-be

After much preparation, my new library successfully opened on October 31st.  Our book pass was great – nearly 2,000 people lined up along the route between the old library and the new library to pass 300 books.  My day began at 6:15AM with the book pass set-up, continued to the book pass take down, and then the grand opening.  It ended at about 5:15PM when the library closed.  Even though I was exhausted at the end of the day it was an excellent experience.

The community loves their library.  Everyone exclaimed over the space, the artistic elements, the technology, and how much they missed us.  Our gate count and circulation statistics are consistently at least double what they were at the old building.  I have a feeling we’ll continue to be as busy as we are now.

During my off-work time, I’ve been working on my homework.  There are teacher issues with the Public Libraries class…  She disappears without a word, and won’t answer her emails.  Several students emailed the powers that be at SJSU to find out what was going on, but the issue hasn’t really gotten much better.  This is my las semester before I do the E-Portfolio.  I’m totally looking forward to being done!!!

I’ve also been furiously planning my wedding.  I bought my dress, and tonight we put a deposit down on the site.  Our big day is August 22, 2010!  Woo hoo!!!

Anyway, gotta get to bed.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • November 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives