Week 2 – Coconut Grove

This week I tried Coconut Grove at the Great Mall in Milpitas. Like last week, this restaurant serves Thai food. But they also incorporate Singaporean and Malaysian flavors as well. It kind of reminded me of one of my favorite restaurants, Banana Leaf, also in Milpitas.

We always pass by Coconut Grove, so my hunny and I thought we’d try it. Of course, we missed the $1 roti Wednesdays, but we went in anyway.

We were the first people in the restaurant around 5PM. We ordered the roti parada, mango prawns, green curry chicken, small sapporo (beer), and malaysian iced tea. With tip, it came to $50 and some change.

The roti was a bit small, and not as crispy as I like, but it tasted pretty good. The mango prawns were very sweet, and the mango was a bit soft. It was tasty though. The green curry chicken was good, with just a little bite, but there wasn’t enough chicken to suit me.

The service was good. The server was attentive to us and patient with the crazy people who came in after us.

I’d go again if I were in the neighborhood, but the dinner price puts it outside of my “definitely seek out” restaurant list.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives