Where were you?

There are a few events in our collective recent history that were so profound and devastating that we all remember where we were when they occurred.  I will always remember where I was during the Loma Prieta earthquake in 1989, just as I will remember where I was on September 11, 2001.  Since the anniversary of the September 11th attacks is today I thought I’d tell my little story about my experience.

Earlier in the year DH and I really didn’t want to go to school.  We were at Chabot and we were tired of our teachers and the monotony of school.  We said over and over again (effectively praying) that we hoped something would happen that would give us a reason not to go to school.  Later that week, DH’s sister revealed her pregnancy.  She was only a Junior in high school.  We took the day off school to come up with a game plan and help keep things calm at home.

A few months passed and again, we repeated our mantra asking for something to keep us from going to school.  I stayed the night at DH’s house so we could carpool to school the next morning.  At about 6am DH’s mom woke us up and told us that a plane crashed into the world trade center.  We climbed onto her bed to watch the news.  Only a few minutes later we saw the second plane hit.

I was in shock.  I was sick to my stomach.  I prayed with all my might that those people would make it out of the buildings safely.  And then the buildings crumbled.  I knew that my prayers helped push the universe to allow this horrible tragedy to happen, and that my prayers weren’t enough to help make it right.

We didn’t go to school that day.  I have never prayed for something to keep me from going to school or work again.  This experience more than any other taught me the power of prayer, and that even something so beautiful can be twisted to cause something ugly if the intent is selfish.  I’m not a religious person, but I believe in a higher power and I know that sometimes we need to be hit hard by that power to learn a necessary lesson.  I learned my lesson that day.  I know I’ll learn more in the future.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • September 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives