Couch to 5k – Week 1 Day 2

For more information about Couch to 5K training, please visit http://www.c25k.com/

Today’s training was the same as Monday’s in terms of expectations. After a 5 minute warmup walk, I alternated between 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. I even remembered to double knot my shoes this time.

The emotional side of things, however, was a different story. I was actually resentful at having to get up this morning to exercise. Maybe it was because I was relishing being curled up alone in bed while my husband got ready for work. But either way, I was angry that I had to get up. The anger and resentment definitely made it more difficult to get into the running/walking cycle. Not only was it physically challenging, I couldn’t get my brain into it enough to talk myself into keeping going. By the time I was 15 minutes into the cycle my brain calmed down and I could say “Only two more jogging sessions to go” “You can do it” “Look, you’re not panting nearly as bad today.”

Exercise is definitely easier when your brain is into it. But when it’s not, ignoring the emotion and exercising anyway will help make that emotion go away.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives