I Cooked: Chicken Tortilla Soup (again)

Tonight’s dinner was chicken tortilla soup.  I really wanted something comforting to eat and delicious to boot!  Since I have a lot of chicken, I thought I should make this tonight.

I chopped up a chicken breast and browned it in a pot.  Then I added a chopped onion and some minced garlic.  Once those were softened, a can of tomato sauce went into the pot along with a small box of chicken stock.  Then I added a small palm full of dried parsley, a half a palm full of chili powder, a quarter palm full of ground cumin and a dash of cayenne.  Once that came up to a boil I added a handful of frozen corn and another of frozen green beans.  Then I simmered it for about 15 minutes.  Toppings included avocado, tomato, shredded cheddar and broken tortilla chips.

It was yummy, and it got my nose running.  That’s a good thing because I’m fighting off a cold.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives