I Cooked: Eggnog Pancakes

One of our good friends has a reputation for making awesome eggnog pancakes.  They’re a special seasonal treat he makes every year.  He invites people over for a big pancake party, and everyone eats all night long.  Unfortunately, DH and I usually have other plans when our friend throws pancake parties.  We’ve never had the pleasure of eating this particular treat.

Well, we were at the grocery store last weekend and saw eggnog on sale.  We were super excited!  We could finally attempt to make our own eggnog pancakes, and then drink whatever eggnog was left!  I bought the smallest low fat container they had.  DH was confused – didn’t I want lots?  Well sure!  But if it’s at home I’ll drink it.  And we all know I don’t need the extra calories.

Fast forward to this morning.  I got up and left DH warm in the bed.  Started the coffee, found a recipe and got to cooking.  The recipe can be found here, but I’ll copy and paste it below for you too.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 1.5 cups eggnog
  • 2 tbsp melted butter or margarine

Directions:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients in separate bowls
  2. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until moistened.
  3. Pour batter onto hot lightly greased griddle in 1/4 cup fulls.
  4. Turn when bubbles form on top.  Cook until second side is golden brown.

 

These were a definite hit.  They were fluffy and cakey and delicious.  I was expecting a more pronounced eggnog flavor, though.  We have a bunch left over, so I stuck them in the freezer to reheat in the toaster one morning.  DH said they made him feel like Christmas.

If I were to make them again, I think I’d lower the amount of baking powder.  There was a definite powder flavor in the batter (yes, I taste raw batter) that probably shouldn’t have been there.  I think I’d also increase the amount of eggnog and add some cinnamon.  It might make for a thinner pancake, but I think the eggnog flavor might be stronger and the cinnamon would warm it up.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives