I Cooked: Pasta with Tuna Sauce

Since my chicken smelled funny last night, which forced me to use the steak I was saving for something else, I had to be creative with tonight’s dinner.  I didn’t want to go out for dinner because we’re trying to save saving for a house and dinner out costs money.  So I looked in the pantry and what do I see?  Tuna.  Lots and lots of tuna.  I think it was on sale earlier this year.

DH hates canned tuna… something about the way it smells/tastes/looks.  Mere threats of tuna sandwiches for lunch will make him do my bidding (well… not really, but I can pretend!).  The thought of tuna casserole makes him shudder.  But, since I’m cooking tonight and I love tuna casserole, I thought I’d find a recipe and cook it.  Problem is that I didn’t have several of the ingredients required and it’s not the healthiest thing to make.

I poked around allrecipes and found this recipe.  I didn’t have a lot of the ingredients for this one too, but I figured it would be doable with a few modifications.  The recipe I made up with the modifications is below.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 2 cloves crushed garlic
  • once around the pan with wine
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I put them in a plastic bag and crushed them by hand)
  • A few shakes of dried parsely container
  • A few shakes of Italian seasoning container
  • 1/4 tsp. dried pepper flakes
  • 2 cans tuna drained (6 oz each)
  • 16 oz dried pasta

Directions:

  1. Start the water boiling for the pasta.  When it’s boiling, cook the pasta according to package directions.  Heat the oil in a pan over medium heat.
  2. Chop the onion and crush the garlic.  When the pan is hot add both.  Cook until the onion is tender
  3. Add the wine, tomatoes, and spices.  Cook for a few minutes until reduced a little
  4. Add the tuna.  Fold in and cook until hot.
  5. Drain the pasta and add to sauce.  Toss and serve.

 

This is supposed to make 4 servings, but with all that pasta it’s really closer to 6. DH grimaced when I told him it was tuna, but ate it anyway.  He said it wasn’t bad; he couldn’t taste the tuna.  I thought it was OK.  It needed to be a bit “sauce-ier”. I wonder if it will reheat well for lunch tomorrow.

If I were to make this again, I’d make it with less pasta and maybe add some chunky medium salsa for a kick.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives