My Halloween History

Halloween has always been kind of a magical time for me.  I mean think about it: you get to pretend to be someone/something else for a day and people reward you with candy!  Then there are the decorations, the parties, the parades…  so fun!

When I was a kid, my mom would make our costumes.  Every year we’d go down to New York Fabrics (before it became Joann), look through the pattern books, dream and decide.  It was a special time for me and mom to hang out, giggle and talk.  We would find the fabric and supplies, and mom would get to sewing.  Don’t get me wrong, she would do the same thing for my brother (often at the same time as me), but this just seemed so special.

Every year I was something different.  No matter how much I loved my costume from the year before, I always wanted to see what it would be like to be different.  I’ve been a princess, rock star, witch, gypsy, clown, Pocahontas, and more.  One year my brother, sister and I dressed as the 3 Musketeers, except we used our own family crest.  As an adult I was a french maid, a zombie, a cowgirl, a Greek goddess, and other things too.  This year I’m a devil.

Of course, we had to trick or treat as kids.  We followed the same path every year.  And each year we’d try to convince our adult chaperon to go just a bit further.  By the time we’d finish, our bags would be so heavy and full!  We didn’t have bags like kids do these days.  We used our pillowcases – no chance of the handle breaking or the candy working its way out a minuscule hole in the bottom of a plastic bag that way.  One year we caught a guy who was completely unaware that it was Halloween; he gave us $1 each in dimes and then turned the lights out after we left.

A couple years ago, we took a friend of ours trick or treating.  She’s short, slender, has a little girl voice, and she’s 37.  We pretended to be her parents.  It was hilarious!

When we were teenagers we trick or treated our way home after the mall closed.  A lot of the houses unloaded their candy on us because it was pretty late by that time.  Another friend dressed up as Jack from Jack in the Box.  He made a paper mache mask that year and ended up getting a free shake at Jack in the Box.

So, now that we’re adults, it’s our turn to hand out candy.  DH and I always wanted to be “that” house.  You know the one I’m talking about.  The one that handed out the best candy and had the best decorations.  Well, since we’re renting, we can’t decorate… but we can hand out awesome candy!  One year we almost handed out cans of soda.  Yep, soda.  We found name brand soda for $0.10 per can!  We ended up going to a party that year and we drank the soda.  No awesomeness for the kids that year.  But, this year we’re handing out full sized candy bars.  We found bulk packs of them for cheap.  When we run out we’ll hand out the fun sized stuff.   But until then we’ll be “that” house.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • October 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives