Kinda hard to exercise…

When you can’t leave the house.

My sister sent me a text message on Saturday to let me know that her husband’s aunt had passed away.  They would be expected to attend the funeral.  Since it’s a bit of a distance away (3.5 hour drive) and it will be long (Catholic family), they would need to stay overnight. 

For any normal family, this wouldn’t be an issue.  The non-funeral attending family member would pop in to take care of the pets and bring in the mail.  With us it’s a bit more complicated.

After Mom’s last stroke we became aware that she could no longer be left unattended.  She can still do a lot of things, but she can’t see well enough to get from point A to point B sometimes.  And her memory is iffy.  For instance she doesn’t remember that I’m married and have finished school.  She thinks I’m still a library page in Fremont (a position I held 5 years ago).  So, during the day a caregiver comes in and takes care of the daily stuff.  At night my sister, her family and my brother are home for the rest.

Long story short: I stayed overnight to take care of Mom so they could go to the funeral.  Mom was pretty well behaved.  No arguments about pretzels or complaints about dinner.  She only got up twice after 11pm needing assistance.  The pets on the other hand…  apparently my sister’s cats aren’t fixed.  She has one male and one female.  The female is in heat.  You can imagine the issues this caused.  *sigh*  I have a feeling there will be a new litter in a few months.

So, I’m up and getting ready for the project management training work is having me do this week.  Since I can’t leave mom alone in the house for very long and my sister doesn’t have a treadmill, that means no C25K until I get home tonight.  Right now I feel like I need more sleep.  Hopefully I’ll feel differently later on today.

2 Comments

  1. I’m going on my 4th day of no running my 12/27 c25k because I’m not feeling well. I understand how you feel. Sometimes after taking some time off, when you run again your body thanks you for the break and you have more stamina and endurance than you did last run. Lets just hang on to that and run with it in our minds. We haven’t just jumped off the banwagon, just hit a few bumps that threw us off and we need to recover. Don’t be so hard on yourself … life has it’s way of doing it for you. Smile, relax and run tomorrow! I’m proud of you. 🙂

    • Thanks Ursula! I did end up running a little bit ago. Knowing me, I’d find a reason not to run tomorrow if I didn’t force myself to do it today.

      Being sick sucks! There are a few different colds going around in my family/friend circle. I’m just glad I haven’t gotten it yet! Feel better soon so you can get back to running.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • November 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives