God’s Kick in the Pants

Last time mom had a stroke, I saw it as God’s way of reminding me that our lives and health are fleeting.  I’d gone to a health fair at work a week or so before her stroke and was told that I was very healthy, I just needed to lose weight and take calcium supplements.  Her last stroke in 2008 was the kick in the pants I needed to lose 43 pounds.

Mom had another stroke this week, and it’s pretty much the same thing.  God is reminding me to live as healthy a life as I can and lose the weight I’ve regained (apparently 12 lbs) while doing so.  That means that I need to limit my alcohol intake, limit my junk food, eat lots of fruits and veggies, drink more water, and exercise like I used to.

With that in mind, I’ve created some new goals for the rest of December:

  1. Exercise for an hour a day.  Each workout should include cardio and weights.
  2. Drink at least 8 glasses of water a day.
  3. Limit coffee to 2 cups a day.  Do not add sugar or buy the high calorie drinks.
  4. Be mindful of what I’m eating.  Limit junk food (chocolates, candies, cakes, salty snacks) to Christmas and New Year’s Eve.  It is OK to taste (ONE bite) the specialties that are brought in by staff for potlucks.
  5. Save the alcohol intake for Christmas and New Year’s Eve.  There is no need to have beer/wine/cocktail/eggnog drink several times a week.

Current weight 160
Waist 33.5″
Hips 42″
Thigh 25.75″
Bust 36″

I’m gonna make all of these numbers smaller – well…  except for the bust (hopefully!)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives