Late Afternoon Workout

I meant to workout this morning, but I ran out of time before I was supposed to meet up with my sister.  Then I went to visit mom before I came home to sit like a lump and watch Biggest Loser on Hulu.  But I was restless.  I brought the laptop into the kitchen, sat it on a chair and watched BL while I did dishes.  Still dissatisfied I went back to sitting before I realized that watching the competitors sweat so hard was reminding me that I hadn’t exercised yet so I got up and got to it.

I haven’t been following C25K for awhile now.  Mostly because I’m lazy that way.  So today, I set the treadmill to a 1% incline, warmed up for 5 minutes at 3.5mph and then jogged as long as I could before I had to walk again.  I went for 6 minutes the first time, 4 minutes the second time, 2 minutes twice more, 1 minute and then I speed walked for the last 3 minutes.  I was super excited about the first 6 minute jog – it’s the longest I’ve gone since high school!  Then I was progressively more disappointed.  To make up for it, I speed walked, but it’s not the same, ya know?

Either way in 30 minutes 27 seconds, I went 2.09 miles.  Not bad – it’s a faster pace than I’ve done so far!

When I finished with that, I did a little bit of resistance training.  I’m super sore from the past 2 days of workouts, so I tried to focus on the muscles that weren’t as sore.

  • 30 bicep curls with 2.5 lbs each arm
  • 30 squats with 5.0 lbs
  • 30 kick backs, each leg
  • 30 calf raises
  • 30 girl push-ups

I stretched and now it’s time to rinse off the dried sweat.

I feel good.  The movement definitely helped loosen up the sore muscles.  I sweated a lot so I know I burned some calories.  All I have to do is find a healthy dinner so that I don’t undo all the hard work I just did!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives