I Cooked: Pork Chops and Roasted Veggies

After passing out in the shower and puking my guts up this morning, I thought it was probably a good idea to call in sick to work.  I laid like a lump on the couch all day and just felt gross.  Ugh.  I know, I know… not a good way to start a recipe post.

DH got home and I knew he was probably hungry.  I’ve been trying to make sure we eat more healthfully so I dragged my butt off the couch and started dinner.  Luckily it was super easy and only took about 45 minutes from prep to finish.

Pork Chops and Roasted Veggies

  • 2 potatoes, peeled and cut small-ish (about .75″ cubes)
  • 1 onion cut the same size
  • Other veggies that are good for roasting, cut the same size (optional)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup veggie stock (chicken stock will work too)
  • A couple splashes of red wine
  • 2 pork chops, bone in, 1 to 1.5″ thick
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Parsley
  • Sage
  • Parmesan

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Mix the onions and potatoes together along with veggie stock, wine, salt & pepper to taste.  Put it all in a roasting pan or on a cookie sheet with sides.  Try to make sure it’s in a single layer.
  3. Rub the pork chops with all of the spices and Parmesan cheese.  Go light on the sage – it’s pungent!  Place the pork chops on top of the vegetables.
  4. Put it all in the oven for about 30 minutes or until everything is cooked.

It smelled awesome when it was cooking.  Unfortunately, the wine started to burn and I set off 2 smoke detectors.  Nothing tasted burned, though.  I went a little too heavy on the sage, but overall it was good.

DH especially liked the potatoes and onions.  He’s not a fan of pork, but he ate it all up too.

I might make it again.  It was easy to make and that’s always a plus.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives