Communication

Do you know how much time I spend actively communicating with others every day? In a typical day I speak with others face to face, on the phone, by text, email, Facebook, gesture, facial expression and probably other ways of which I’m unaware.  Heck, today I was complimented on my graceful gestures as I oriented a new library member to our building and services.  I think we often take the communication methods we use for granted because we use them all so interchangeably.

Today’s blog prompt is: Do you prefer to talk, text message, or a different communication method?

My answer is that it depends on what I want to accomplish and I don’t really prefer one over another.

I was really struck by the limitations of various communication methods today when I was texting my husband about his sister.  Texts are great for quick little blurbs of information, but what can be said is limited by space and it can often be misinterpreted.  The words I texted were innocuous enough: “We can go.” “Do we even know where she is?”  But without the assistance the tone of my voice would offer during a telephone conversation, it becomes easy for someone to misinterpret or read something into the texts that I didn’t mean.

Same thing with emails.  I had a coworker once who always wrote very formal emails.  His crafted very eloquent, beautifully worded emails, but their tone was so formal that it was difficult to read sometimes.  When asked, he stated that he just wanted to be sure that his words wouldn’t be misinterpreted.

That’s not to say that speaking with someone in person or on the phone is without its problems, but those problems are lessened.  It’s interesting to realize just how much we rely on the tone of voice, facial expressions, gestures and even someone’s clothes to understand what they’re saying.

What do you think?  Take my poll below!

 

2 Comments

  1. I love communicate face to face. I need to see eyes of the person I’m talking to. I can’t even say “I love you!” in telephone. But I do love to receive texts. My phone keeps now text messages from a person that’s not alive anymore. I read them and smile and cry. 🙂

    • I know what you mean about the text messages. I have old emails from my dad (he passed away in 1999) that I have saved. They don’t say anything spectacular; they’re just us checking in with each other. But they’re an important part of my personal history. Maybe I’ll print them out and put them in my scrap book, but for now they’re just for me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives