Game Review: Fighters Uncaged XBox 360 Kinect

A couple hours ago we had an earthquake that made my itty bitty barely dripping faucet turn into a full blown stream of water that I couldn’t turn off at the tap.  Unfortunately the faucet happens to be attached to my tub, which means that I can’t override the water flow like I would if it were a sink or a toilet.  I called the landlady who then called the plumber who won’t be able to come out until about 7pm.  The landlady told me to turn off the water for the entire complex.  Yes, that’s right.  None of the four apartments have water at this time.

In order to keep my mind off my rapidly filling bladder I decided to jump around in front of my TV.  Well, not the TV per se, more like the Xbox Kinect sensor.

“Santa” got DH a Kinect for Christmas.  We hooked it up this past weekend and played the game that came with it.  Yesterday we received “Fighters Uncaged” from GameFly to play as well.   I thought the graphics were about the same as any other Xbox 360 game.  The controls were on par with the free Kinect game we’d already played.  DH tested it out and was really frustrated with how unresponsive the game was.  I know that he expects perfection from all gaming systems, so I took his negative review with a grain of salt.

DH’s complaints seemed to be that his character didn’t respond to the movements that he made, especially when it came to dodging or blocking blows.  Sometimes his character would make moves that were not even similar to motions that he made.  For instance, one time DH was standing with his arms at his side, and the character kicked the opponent.  He tried playing the game in lighter colored clothing because I suggested that the Kinect was just having difficulty seeing him in his dark clothes in a dimly lit room against a navy blue sofa.  He quickly gave up after his character’s performance didn’t improve.

I chose to test Fighters Uncaged myself to see if my results were any different.  I quickly learned that if your goal in this game is precision and realism you’ll be very disappointed.  If your goal is just to get a good sweat going, you’ll have more fun.  Even changing to the latter goal didn’t help my enjoyment by much.  I would punch, but my character would kick.  I’d sweep but my character would kick.  I’d elbow and my character would head butt. I’d dodge and my character would stand there.

I fought four practice rounds with the trainer, and two rounds each with two opponents.  By the end of it I was breathing heavily and sweating a little, so that was good.  But the unresponsive (or selectively responsive) game reduced my enjoyment of the game.  For $49.99 retail, I’d expect a bit more out of it.

My verdict: save your money for when they decide to develop a fighting game that actually does what you tell it to.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives