How I Make Myself Sleep

Sometimes it’s almost impossible for me to go to sleep.  It’s not that I’m not tired.  I can be exhausted, but my brain just won’t shut up long enough for me to fall asleep.  Since I try to avoid medication wherever possible (because I’m convinced I’ll get hooked on something), I’ve had to find other ways to make myself sleep.

The best trick I’ve found is to go through the minutiae of the next day’s activities in order.  If I think of something that needs to be added, but I’ve already passed the most logical place for it to happen, I start imagining the day’s activities again so that I can insert the new activity.

For instance:

  1. Get up at 6am
  2. Turn off alarm
  3. Sit up in bed
  4. Put on slippers
  5. Make bed
  6. Get in shower

Oops…  I forgot something

  1. Get up at 6am
  2. Turn off alarm
  3. Sit up in bed
  4. Put on slippers
  5. Make bed
  6. Gather clothes for the day
  7. Get in the shower

And so on.  I rarely get past breakfast in this imagining of daily activities before I’m asleep.

One of my coworkers does something similar.  She says “good night” to each part of her body and imagines each body part getting heavier and “falling asleep” before she drifts off herself.   I haven’t tried it yet, but she swears by it.

Another coworker goes thinks about her daily affirmations.

Yet another lists the things that make her happy.

 

Well, now that I’ve talked about sleeping, it’s time to do it myself!  Until tomorrow’s post…

1 Comment

  1. Interesting method. I should try it tonight 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives