Blogging for Education

This blog was started in December 2007 as part of a training project for work called “Library 2.0” in which we learned about various web 2.0 technologies and thought about how they might be used in libraries.  It was actually one of the funnest (is that a word?) training programs I’ve ever completed… and the iPod Shuffle I received as a completion prize didn’t hurt (thanks ACLF!)!  I remember thinking that I’d probably end up deleting my WordPress account once the training was done, because I couldn’t figure out what else I might tell all you internet strangers out there.  That was 3 years ago.  I’m still here.

After thinking about this a bit more, though, I came to realize that I’ve been blogging since I was 14 years old – before it was actually called blogging.  Back then you subscribed to free website hosting places and programmed your website in HTML.  I thought learning and memorizing the HTML codes was a lot of fun.  Every new entry required making a new page and coding it in HTML.  I don’t remember the specifics of what I posted on my site, but I do remember writing a couple of different rants about the popular chicks that had people laughing.  I also remember posting my poetry (what’s teen angst without poetry?) and linking to my friends’ sites.

I know that I took a break from web-mistressing towards the end of high school.  I don’t remember why – maybe I was bored with writing out all that code, maybe it had something to do with all the new technology that was coming out, or perhaps it had to do with other vagarities of the high schooler’s thought process.  I’d thought about starting another website, but I was too busy with other things over the years.  I picked it up again with this blog, and the rest is history!

So, while I may have started this blog as part of my education and continued it to talk about my MLIS education, I’ve continued it even longer just because.  Do you think it’s become a type of for me?  I mean, it’s not like I tell you all my deepest darkest secrets or anything.  I just talk about random things now.  Hmmm…  so why do I continue to write?  I’m not sure.  Maybe I’ll figure it out through all this blogging, ya know?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives