Angels on My Shoulders

To understand where I’m coming from on this post, you’ll have to know a terrible secret about me: I watch Biggest Loser.  Yes, it’s another time to gasp in horror… or point and laugh at me.  I only started watching it last season, during which I discovered that it’s impossible to cry along with the contestants and jog at the same time; I simply didn’t have enough breath to do both!  I can lift weights and cry, though.  It’s difficult and definitely not pretty, but I can do it.

This season there’s a contestant named Arthur who started out as big around as he is tall.  Well, during this week’s episode “The Unknowns” sent a couple boxes of donuts to “The Ranch” team to taunt and tempt them into failing at their weight loss goals.  One of Arthur’s favorite treats is donuts.  He was soooo tempted by those donuts, even after the team took turns stepping on the boxes and squishing them into oblivion.

 

During his talk with the camera later, Arthur described the struggle he experienced during this temptation as a “fat angel” on one shoulder telling him that he could have just one bite and the “biggest loser angel” on the other shoulder reminding him of how far he’s come.  I immediately thought “No, he means fat devil.” But then I realized that a devil is nothing more than a fallen angel, so his term was technically correct. I also realized that we all have warring angels on our shoulders every day.  Some people call them their conscience, others say it’s the voice in the back of their head, but I can definitely see where the angel analogy fits in with me.

The biggest examples for me are the “Procrastination Angel” and the “Do it Now Angel.”  I think of something that needs doing like exercise, banking, cleaning the house.  Then the Angels duke it out via my brain.  The Procrastination Angel tries its best to convince me that a task can wait for a few more minutes, or until tomorrow, or until I finish this other thing.  The Do It Now Angel tries its best to convince me that doing it now is better.  Sadly, the Procrastination Angel often wins.

Today’s example of these two angels is exercise.  I’d planned on getting up and getting right to it, especially since it’s been awhile since I’ve done anything close to exercise.  The Procrastination Angel said “have your coffee first.”  Then it said “watch Biggest Loser first.”  Then it said “Blog about me first.”  Meanwhile the Do It Now Angel says “If you get it out of the way you won’t have to do it later.”  Then it says “You’re going to run out of time to do it, if you don’t do it now.”  Then it says “Think of how good you’ll feel when it’s done.”  Can you tell which angel is winning?

I just re-read what I wrote, and I totally sound like I have some kind of mental illness.  I assure you, I don’t.  But you get what I’m saying, right?  We all battle temptations every day.  There’s always something else that we’d rather be doing.  Part of being a contributing member of society (or at least not a drain on it) often means doing the things that need doing even though we may not really want to do it.

So, those are the angels on my shoulders today.  What are yours?

1 Comment

  1. Okay, this one had me laughing. The closer you got to the bottom, the better it got. Truly, in jest, it does sound somewhat like you have some schizophrenic things going on in your head, but I have been enjoying your posts for some time now and am pretty sure that this is not the case!

    Your example: …the Do It Now Angel says “If you get it out of the way you won’t have to do it later.” Then it says “You’re going to run out of time to do it, if you don’t do it now.” Then it says “Think of how good you’ll feel when it’s done.” is EXACTLY the things that go through my head. Though I am not a procrastinator, I always always have things pulling at my time that are often necessary. Still, my do it now angel wins out most of the time and she is always right. 🙂

    I wish you more time to enjoy your do it now angel, AND your cup of coffee, AND your biggest loser! You have so very much on your plate and on your mind and still seem to enjoy life. For that I am proud of you!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives