Healthy Gums!

About a year and a half ago I decided to go back to the dentist.  I hadn’t been to see a dentist since I was 15 and my mom decided that our dentist was a quack.  And, since I’d made a resolution that year to take better care of my health, I couldn’t very well ignore my oral health, could I?

So I made an appointment, and I went.  They found a cavity and told me I had gingivitis.  Can you believe it?  28 years old with gingivitis.  The dental hygienist showed me a bunch of charts that explained what the term “gingivitis” meant, how it manifested itself in my mouth, and what would happen if I didn’t get it in check soon.  In short, she said “Brush twice a day and floss once a day or your teeth will fall out.”  So I did.  At my next cleaning six months later I was on the edge of having healthy teeth and gums.

Unfortunately, life happens and I let a couple things go.  One of those things was flossing.  Although my gums hadn’t gotten worse, they hadn’t gotten better either.  Then I needed a root canal and it hurt to floss around the crown.  It bled profusely whenever I’d try, so I stopped again.

January 1, 2011 I made another resolution to do what the dentist said and floss daily.  Can you believe that after 20 days of brushing twice and flossing once daily brought my gums into the healthy range?  I had a dentist appointment today, and the hygienist was so excited!  She said that I had a healthy color, healthy texture, no bleeding and the “pockets” had shrunken in depth so that I was considered healthy!  Oh yeah, and no cavities either!  Yay!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives