More Library Shifting

When we moved into our beautiful new building a little over a year ago the shelves were a bit bare.  Who would have guessed that between our shared collections and our collection development program our shelves would be getting tight in some areas?  There are a couple of ways to handle such a problem: collection review and shifting.    We have reviewed our collection a bit but even still we need to shift certain areas.

Last week we shifted children’s early readers, picture books and moving up.  This week we shifted children’s audio-visual (DVDs and Books on CD) and paperbacks.  We also shifted adult/teen science fiction.

When I was a library page (a shelver), shifting wasn’t on my list of favorite things to do.  It was labor intensive and time consuming.  I always felt that I could be spending my time better (shelving, organizing, setting up programs), but I did the shifting when it was asked.  Now that I’m a supervisor, I actually miss getting out there and doing the shifting.  I think that’s why I spent so much time last week doing it, and an hour today too.

One of the best parts of getting out there and shifting is that I get to spend a bit more time with the pages as they take a break from shelving to shift.  We’re typically so busy that I see the pages in passing as they drop off an empty shelving cart and pick up a full one.   So, I got to spend some time with my newer pages and get to know them a bit better.  It was nice.

There’s still more shifting to be done.  I definitely look forward to doing it.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives