Clean All the Things Weekend

One of my coworkers introduced me to a blog called Hyperbole and a Half.  Allie (the artist/author) writes hilarious entries that I can totally relate to… one of which is called “This is Why I’ll Never Be an Adult.”  After reading every post on her blog within a few hours and crying with laughter, I discovered that she sells different products with her artwork on them.  I was lucky enough to receive an apron based on the adult failure post that says “Clean All the Things.”  It’s awesome!

I’d been looking around my house for some time, realizing that I was feeling kinda gross.  There was clutter everywhere.  The floors needed to be mopped and vacuumed.  The kitchen was embarrassing.  You get the idea.  So, I declared this weekend a “Clean All the Things Weekend.”  It gives me an excuse to wear my nifty new apron and do something that has immediate gratification.

Yesterday I did 5 loads of laundry.  UGH….  I hate doing laundry, but only because access to a washer and dryer is difficult to obtain.  I also did all the dishes and tied the loose cardboard on our patio.   This morning I did two more loads of laundry and cleaned the kitchen from top to bottom.  DH helped by cleaning up the living room and moving the mini-fridge back to its designated space.  We ran out of cleaning products, so we took a break to buy some and then came back to clean the downstairs bathroom, all the downstairs windows, the banister, the front door… you get the idea.  Tomorrow will be ironing, groceries, the upstairs bathroom and our bedroom.

Although my home has a long way to go until it’s spotless, I’m happy with the progress we’ve made.  It’s amazing how much better I feel in my cleaner home!  The next trick is to keep it that way.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives