I Cooked: Pineapple Chicken Sandwiches

I had some canned pineapple I’d bought for a recipe I never made and chicken in the freezer that I needed to cook.  What’s a gal to do?  Look for a recipe that looks like it’s easy to make and intriguing.  I found this recipe for a pineapple chicken sandwich that seemed to fit the bill.  Basically the directions say to grill or broil the chicken and the pineapple while basting with honey mustard.  Serve inside a roll with red bell pepper slices.

Hmmm…  no bell pepper at all in my house, so I skipped that ingredient.  And I broiled instead of grilled.  And I toasted the rolls with a skillet on my stove.

I have to say that this was kind of boring.  As DH described it: “It’s chicken in bread.”  It was quick and easy enough to make, but it needed more.  Like, maybe something spicy to play off the sweetness of the pineapple and honey mustard.  Or maybe a different kind of roll (I used sourdough).

Oh well… chances are that I won’t make it again, but it was an easy experiment to make.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives