Workout: 2/11/11 (Jogging IRL)

The weather is beautiful today – sunny, bright, not too warm and the birds are happily chirping.  There are lots of people out in my neighborhood getting their daily walk/jog in.  I know there will be even more later (just before the kids get out of school).  I know that a 5k won’t be raced on the treadmill, so I decided that today would be a great day to get outside and try to jog.

It’s been a long time since I’ve actually jogged outside.  You know… in public.  Where strangers can see me flailing about, gasping for air and sweating like a pig.  Where they can be blinded by my pasty white legs in the sun.  To tell you the truth I was a bit nervous.  After all nearly every street in my neighborhood involves going up a hill and I haven’t been doing that on my treadmill.

Basically, my route took me down the street to the park where that kid was shot last year.  It looks so innocuous with the people playing fetch with their dogs, toddlers playing on the playground and couples playing tennis.  Nobody looked thuggish and I got a few smiles and waves as I started my jog at that corner.

Up the hill I went.  Dude, that was hard.  About a minute of jogging up a small-ish hill and I had to stop.  I finished walking up that hill, then jogged my way back down and around the corner.  Then I walked halfway up the next hill, jogged the rest of the way up and back down.  Walked some more… and so on.

I’m sad to say that I was too intimidated to try jogging up the biggest hill in my neighborhood – Garin.  That one I skipped completely.

OK, so bottom line: I need to do this more.  Jogging on the treadmill just isn’t the same as doing it “in real life.”  The neighborhood and other places don’t have perfectly flat ground.  The ground also doesn’t move for you to keep you going at a steady pace.

I think my Fridays will be spent jogging outside.  Maybe a Sunday or a Saturday too.  The rest of the time I can do it inside on the treadmill, but it’s important to do it for reals too.

Today’s run: 1.7 miles in 22:35.

1 Comment

  1. I love jogging outside and treadmill does not work for me at all. Plus we severe weather condition it even takes more stamina. Keep jogging outside and let me know how s it going:)

    http://www.getexperience.wordpress.com


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives