I Cooked: Basil Bread

One of the things I received from my sister when she moved in to take care of mom was her bread machine.  She never really used it, and I thought it would be fun to play with so I happily took it home.  I’ve used it a few times to make white bread, onion bread, egg bread and whole wheat bread.  I thought I’d try something different, so I searched the internet for a recipe that would work.  It was a bit of a challenge because I didn’t have any eggs in the house – do you know how many bread recipes require eggs?  I finally found a recipe for Rosemary Bread.  Small problem though…  I was out of dried rosemary.  What’s a gal to do?  Substitute with a different herb of course!  I used basil and it turned out surprisingly good.

I was a little concerned when I tried it because the directions say to proof your yeast before adding any of the other ingredients.  My bread machine directions say to add the yeast last and let the machine do the work.  I followed the recipe’s directions and I’m glad I did.  The bread turned out fluffy, soft, and delicious!

The original recipe from All Recipes is below:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F (43 degrees C))
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons crushed dried rosemary (I used Basil)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

  1. Pour the water into the pan of a bread machine, then sprinkle in the yeast and sugar. Let the mixture sit in the bread machine until a creamy foam forms on top of the water, about 10 minutes.
  2. Sprinkle in the salt, then add olive oil, thyme, garlic powder, rosemary, and flour.
  3. Use the basic bread setting with light colored crust, and start the machine.

I’ll definitely try making this one again with rosemary.  I think it would be awesome cut into smaller slices, toasted with bruscetta on top, or even a regular slice dipped in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Yum!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives