I have a problem…

(This is a repost from my SparkPeople (SP) blog)

…Well, a few of them actually. But this problem is SP related. You see, when I go on vacation or do something outside of my routine, it seems like eating healthfully and exercising go quickly out the window.

Take this weekend for instance. I did this awesome shop hop with my sister and her friend. I started out really good: ate a healthy breakfast, packed a couple of snacks and told myself that I would eat appropriately on the road. I also told myself that I’d find the gym at our hotel and work out there after dinner.

The first day we stopped at Starbucks. I was good with the drink: coffee and some fat free milk. Not so good with the treat. I ordered 3 of those mini vanilla scones. I knew I should have limited myself to 1, or not ordered it at all since I had snacks in the car. I told myself that it was OK to order them because I could just eat 1 (140 calories) for a snack now, and eat the others at other times for snacks.

Before I knew it, I’d eaten all 3 and it was time for lunch. Ugh. Lunch was healthy enough. A 6″ turkey sandwich on wheat with veggies and mustard from Subway. Then I added on the baked Lays Sour Cream and Onion chips. *sigh* I only got them because I was jealous that everyone else got to have chips and I didn’t. Never mind that they’re all pushing 300 lbs, and I’m trying to lose weight. And to top it all off, they didn’t even taste very good. Wasted calories.

I thought I’d share an sleeve of thin mints. The other two people in the car with me had 3-4 cookies each. I ate the rest. Again with the mindless eating.

Along the way there was candy at each shop. And home baked goodies. I was good at first, but by the end of the day I was sampling at each shop.

Then dinner came along. We went to a pasta place. Every single thing on their menu outside of the kids menu had some type of cream sauce on it. Their salad was drenched in a creamy dressing. And I had a glass of wine.

You can probably guess that I didn’t make it to the hotel gym.

Saturday was much the same, except that I remembered I’d packed my exercise bands and used them for a quick upper body workout that morning. I also ate a very healthy breakfast: oatmeal with raisins and walnuts, a banana, some coffee with creamer.

Today I didn’t even really try, although I did order from the fresco menu at Taco Bell.

So I know that I can’t stop just because I traveled and ignored everything healthy this weekend. My plan for tomorrow is to get up bright and early, and jog on my treadmill. Then I’ll work on the weight routine that SP suggests. And I’ll eat healthfully all day too.

1 Comment

  1. I feel your pain. I just got back from a trip to Florida with the boyfriend. Crap food all the way down, crap food while we were there (albeit tasty food!), and more crap on the drive home. *sigh* I gained 7 pounds.

    Hang in there! If I ever come up with good advice for eating right/exercising while traveling I will let you know. LOL


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives