Exercise Update: 3/7/11 and 3/8/11

OMG!  My 5k is on Sunday!  I feel so unprepared.  I know I can walk the whole darn thing if I want, but I’d planned on doing a mix of walking and jogging (heavy on the jogging).  *sigh*  I’ll do this one, and then sign up for another one a bit further out while planning out my cardio to work towards jogging the whole thing.

So after this weekend I felt pretty bad about the lack of exercise I got, and all the unhealthy foods I’d eaten.  On Monday I got up bright and early at 6am (ugh) to jog on the treadmill and work with my weights.  It was sooooo hard to get going once I got up.  I was up and dressed but dawdled and moved slowly until 6:30, which only gave me enough time to do the cardio work before I had to get ready for the day.

I tried to jog, but it just felt wrong.  The treadmill was making crazy noises and I couldn’t get my breathing right, and my stride felt off.  It just sucked.  So I walked super fast instead.  Then I tried jogging again.  Then back to walking.  I repeated this cycle for 30 minutes and managed to go about 2 miles.

Later in the day I took a break from work and walked around the block.  It was nice and windy!  It felt good to get out of the library for a minute to re-center myself and focus on fitness for 15 minutes.

DH wasn’t home yet when I got in from work, so I pulled out the dumbbells and followed my SparkPeople weight regime.  I can tell you that I don’t like lunges.  They make my knees feel icky, but I know what awesome things they can do for the lower body.  I can also tell you that I’m not such a fan of crunches.  I did them, but ugh.

Today I set the alarm for bright and early again. I almost ignored the alarm and slept in until the absolute latest, but I told myself that ignoring the alarm was the first step back towards fat.  I got dressed in the dark so DH could sleep some more, went downstairs and found the yoga videos by Yogatic I scoped out on YouTube the night before.  I did all 3 beginner yoga videos, and then started in with my day.  The videos themselves were only about 30 minutes long total… but I dawdled after the alarm again.

I’m planning on taking a couple of breaks from work to walk around the block again.  We’ll see if the weather holds out.  If it doesn’t, I’ll have to walk on the treadmill when I get home tonight.

Here are the videos I followed this morning:

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives