Shamrock 5k Fun Run in Dublin, CA

I did my first 5K ever today! It was a completely different experience from the treadmill or from jogging in my neighborhood. I started toward the back with the strollers and other “slow” people (those that need 13+ minutes for a mile), and quickly realized that their idea of slow and my idea of slow are two different things. Everyone in my group was walking! And they were in my way. Seriously, who goes 6 abreast holding hands and literally blocks the entire road? I know it’s a “fun run” but really? Oh well, I found my way around them and got started.

I actually jogged about half of my first mile and felt pretty good. When I needed to walk, I walked, and when I felt ready to jog, I jogged. Most of the people around me did the same thing. They called out 13:46 when I passed the first mile marker, which is about average for me.

The second mile somehow went faster. I’ve never had that happen before. And that was with a hill. I kept with the same strategy as with the first mile and made great time – they called out 26:46 as I passed the 2nd mile marker. 13 minute mile – super fast!

The third mile was on a paved trail road called the Iron Horse Trail. It looks like a fun place to jog/walk normally (if I lived in the area I’d go there). The only downside was that the trail was narrower than the 2-lane road that we were on before, so it was harder to get around the people. DH was in the spectator area, cheering me on and taking my picture.  I still followed the same routine, but my time suffered because of it – 40:40 at the 3rd marker (almost a 14 minute mile).

With only 0.1 miles to go I ran faster and passed the finish line at 41:03. The only thing I have to compare this jog with is my treadmill run, which was 44 minutes for the same distance. So with that comparison, this is a personal best! Go me!  According to DailyMile, my average speed was 13:14 per mile.

On the downside my left thigh is killing me. I know it’s because my stride babies my left knee quite a bit and my quads are a bit on the weak side. I’ll do some yoga and some walking until Wednesday, when I’ll get back to jogging and strength training again.

So excited! I can’t wait for my next 5k!

5 Comments

  1. WOOHOO! Way to go on your first race!

    I hope your thigh is feeling better – ice and Epsom salt baths really help.

  2. I was there yesterday too… in the back of the pack too! I totally understand what you are saying about people blocking the road! lol! It was a great run though! Glad you had success!

  3. Congrats on your running accomplishments!!!

  4. click to read…

    […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]…

  5. click here…

    […]here are some links to sites that we link to because we think they are worth visiting[…]…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives