12-hour Work Day

When I first started this job, I didn’t see anything wrong with working a 12 hour day once each week.  I thought it wouldn’t be a problem, that I would just pack a lunch and a dinner and that everything would be fine.  But over the past couple of years I learned that the 12 hour day is a bit more complicated than all of that.

Since I’m on my feet for most of those 12 hours, comfortable shoes are a must.  That means no high heels, and no flats that give me blisters.  In general, comfortable clothes are a must.  They usually need to handle me crawling under a table, or climbing a step stool… but they need to look professional too so that our patrons don’t raise their eyebrows when I approach them as “the supervisor.”

I’ve also learned that the food is an issue too.  DH likes to eat dinner with me, even if it’s really late at night.  The problem is that I’m really hungry around 6:30pm, but I don’t get to leave work until 8pm.  That’s an hour and a half of waiting for dinner.  I could always eat two dinners, but doing that is why I’m in the shape I’m in.  I’ve also tried bringing an extra snack, but my body is used to eating an actual meal around 6:30 and a snack only makes it want more food.  I’ve also tried just waiting a little longer to eat on Tuesdays.  You know: snack at 11:30 instead of 10, lunch at 2:30 instead of noon, snack at 5 instead of 3, dinner at 8:30 instead of 6:30.  I’ve learned that pushing it all back, just makes me more likely to graze on the junk food in the break room.  I’m also a bit crankier because I have that vague hungry feeling all day.  *sigh*  I guess the thing I’ll try next week is bringing a lunch and a dinner with me, and then eat a snack or drink a cup of tea while DH eats dinner.  Let’s hope that works and that DH doesn’t feel neglected by it.

Any other suggestions, internet people?

2 Comments

  1. While I am totally and completely jealous that DH cares that much about spending time with you regardless of the hour, if this is one day/night a week I question why he would feel neglected if you aren’t eating a full meal with him? Or does that have more to do with you worrying that he might feel that way because the current routine would get changed up?

    I think a small snack and tea with his late diner is a good option. Otherwise (and I really don’t mean this to sound as crass as it does), I would suggest that he tough it out and eat on his own one night a week. You could then plan on that night being a “movie night” or something similar to replace the time you would have otherwise spent together eating. Rent a DVD and snuggle on the couch together after a long day at work. That would prevent you from feeling obligated to indulge in another meal and would still give the two of you your time together.

    Just some thoughts! I wish my guy would worry that much about eating dinner with me…

  2. I don’t think it’s so much about feeling neglected this one day each week, it’s more about dinner being the one time each day that we sit, talk, and focus on each other without distractions. We’ve come to rely on that time, and look forward to it each day.

    I also know how it feels to eat a full meal while the other person has a drink or a small snack. It totally makes you feel like a fat ass, and like they’re watching you eat. It’s weird, I know, but we both have that same feeling. I’ll try it out next week and see if he’s still weirded out by it.

    We snuggle and watch TV together a couple nights each week, but not so much on the 12-hour day. By the time I get home (about 8:30pm) and we finish eating (around 9:30pm) it’s almost time for bed so that I can get up and exercise in the morning before work. There’s just not enough time on Tuesdays to do it all.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives