4 pounds = visible results?

A couple of weeks ago I signed up for SparkPeople, a free social networking website dedicated to health and fitness.  I’d been tracking my food, water and exercise.  I’d been making sure to do cardio and weights and yoga, and making healthier food choices whenever possible.  On Wednesday I weighed myself and found that I’d lost 4 pounds.  Not bad, right?

Well, on one of my walks around the block at work, just after I’d signed up for SparkPeople, one of the patrons saw me and made a comment.  “Hey Librarian!  Enjoy your walk, but don’t lose too much weight – I love a lush woman!”  He looked vaguely familiar, but I couldn’t pick him out of a crowd if I needed to… but he obviously recognized me.  I just waved and kept walking.

On Saturday I was handing out tickets to Martin Yan’s cooking demonstration when the same guy came up to my table.  He smiled and said “Keep walking, you’re looking great!  What’s it been, about 5 pounds?”  I smiled and said “Just about.”

I’m not sure if the guy was hitting on me, being a creepster, trying to be supportive, or just being friendly.  But I wonder if any of you have seen visible results just by losing 4 pounds?  The only thing I notice is that my rings spin around a lot more, but other than that I don’t see anything.  What do you think?

2 Comments

  1. I have recently GAINED 4 pounds and I see results. Pants are a little snugger, belly a bit less flat, cheeks a bit chunkier. So yes, cograts on the weight loss

  2. I’ve actually NOT lost weight before but have noticed a difference due to exercise. Muscles start tightening up and I think, to some extent, I carry myself differently when I’m feeling better about myself. All that definitely plays into how others perceive us!

    And, I hope the guy is just being a supportive cheerleader (and he might be hitting on you – dies he know you’re married?) but I’d keep my awareness up around him just in case it gets too stalkerish feeling.

    Congrats on the 4 pounds!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives