New Shoes

My last few jog/walks left me achy… and not in a good way either.  Ankle pain, inner shin pain, knee pain and a little bit of foot pain do not make me want to be the active person I know I am.  These new pains had been slowly coming on, and I’d been steadily ignoring them.  I knew that the pains just meant that I needed new running shoes but I simply didn’t want to spend the money.

Why is it that I can justify buying so many “throw away” objects, but I can’t justify spending $50-100 on my health?  Is there some little voice in the back of my head that’s telling me my health isn’t worth as much as my daily Starbucks?  And if so, why am I giving it so much power over me?  I’ll have to think on that and work towards understanding that it’s OK to spend money on fitness equipment I’ll use every day.

Either way, with these new pains ruining a perfectly good walk/jog yesterday, I broke down and went shopping for new running shoes.  Every website and blog out there says that it’s important to go to a running store to have my gait/stride/foot analyzed so that I get the best shoe for me.  But seriously?  I’m not driving for an hour to buy a pair of shoes.  No matter how much I love to shop, I can’t justify that length of a drive when I don’t consider myself a runner.

I went down to the local sporting goods store and tried on a bunch of shoes.  I decided that I wasn’t going to pigeon-hole myself into the cheapest pair I could find.  I’d go for the ones that felt the best, even if they weren’t the most affordable.  I found a pair that felt pretty good.   I walked around a bit in them.  Jumped a couple of times.  Walked around a bit more.  Tightened the laces.  Walked, jumped.  Tried on another pair. Went back to these ones.  I really liked the arch support in this particular style of Asics, and best of all, my legs/ankles/feet didn’t hurt!  I bought them and took them home.

This morning, I got up, put on my new running shoes and did a couple of sparkpeople videos.  My ankles started hurting towards the end of the first video.  I realized that my foot had slid around inside the shoe and somehow the arch support was nowhere near my arches!  *sigh*  this isn’t good.  So I’ll take them back on Friday and see if I can exchange them for another style or size, or just get my money back.

If all else fails, I could always trek on down to the running shoe store.

3 Comments

  1. I would definitely go to the running shoe store and get fitted for shoes. It has made a world of difference for me. Now that I’ve found shoes that I like and that fit properly I have been ordering them online whenever it is time for new ones (I usually find better deals on them there), but it was worth the extra money the first time around to have someone show me what to look for in a shoe fit.

    Also, they will likely have a treadmill or small track you can do some actually running on for a few minutes to get a real idea of what they will feel like.

  2. I think I’ll go that route next time. I know there’s a store about an hour away, so once these shoes wear out I’ll reward myself with the shoe shopping experience.

  3. Doo itttt. I bour=ght one pair of walking shoes for the SGK 3 day walk for the cure – with the knowledge that I will need another pair . For the next pair – I’m heading to the shoe Store here in fremont that all the foot doctors send ther paitens too. I need to learn what a good fit is. Then when I go looking for a third pair – I’ll know what I need.

    My DH , who used to run, had to be convinced to get new shoes. He knows. At least once he put on the shoe he knew they were his


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives