Jogging with my new shoes

I got lazy and decided that I didn’t want to drive for an hour to go buy shoes.  Instead, I exchanged the painful shoes for a couple of other pairs.  It took awhile to find replacement shoes though.  I tried on a few, jumped around like a crazy monkey, walked around and actually found two pairs so that I could wear them on alternating days.  Well, one of the pairs needed better arch supports, so I got a pair of replacement insoles.  Since then, I’ve walked, jogged and done aerobics in both pair, and both seem to be working fine.

Now for the awesome news: when I jogged around my neighborhood, I was jogging at about a 12 minute mile!  EEKS!  In the interest of full disclosure, I live on a flat street that connects a bunch of hills.  So my choice is to run up and down a flat street over and over and over and over…  or run up and down each hilly street and use my flat street to connect them.  As you can imagine, I’d get bored with just the flat street and the same houses all the time, so I run up and down the hills.

I’m not quite up to jogging all the way up each hill.  I can really only go 1/2 – 3/4 of the way up, so I walk the rest of the way up.  When I get to the top, I jog all the way down the hill to my flat street.  Keep jogging on the flat part, and jog at least halfway up the next hill.  I’m convinced those downhill slopes are what’s doing such wonderful things for my jogging time.  I won’t know for sure until later on this week when I find a flat-ish path to run on.

2 Comments

  1. Awesome jog! And yay for finding good shoes.

  2. Thanks! Wish me luck on a non-hilly run for Friday!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives