Love Notes

(Reposted from my Sparkpeople Blog.  Look for me on http://www.sparkpeople.com as puokgirl)

How many people have received love notes? I know I have. And I’m not just talking about the squishy, lovey dovey kind that the man (or woman) in your life writes to you. I’m talking about those little notes that say “You are Awesome!” in one way or another.

When you think about it that way, you may have received a lot of love notes. Just someone showing their love and appreciation for you in one way or another. I post mine in my office at work. I use them as a reminder for when the day is tough and it feels like I’m not making a difference in the world. And they have even more meaning when you realize that those who work in customer service receive at least 10 complaints for every 1 compliment.

emoticon One of them starts out “Hey Genius!” It was from a fellow classmate who interned at my library. She wrote it when I received my MLIS.

emoticon Another says “What awesome customer service!” It was from a patron who has a lot of behavioral/emotional problems.

emoticon One came in the form of a hand painted card and candy dish that simply says “Thank you for calling 911 and convincing me to go.” It was from a patron who gave blood before stopping at the library… where she passed out and started vomiting while unconscious.

emoticon One from my husband says “I love you!” He snuck in one day and left it for me.

emoticon I received one via email from a patron who said “You are so thorough and I appreciate that to the utmost.” This was from a patron who was positive he returned an item. He was thanking me for looking in 6 different places… only to have him find it at home.

There are more, but those are the ones I remember off the top of my head right now. These love notes are important. They show that people notice and appreciate what you do. They’re a great reminder that your work, your efforts and even you yourself are important to someone – even if it’s just for a few minutes.

So never forget how awesome you are. Never forget how important you are. And always remember that by working to improve your health, you are making the world a better place.

emoticon

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives