My mostly unplanned training

I’ve been up and down with my running lately.  Starting, stopping, starting again, not getting enough sleep so running is harder than it needs to be…  I know I start Couch to 5K again, but the stubborn part of me wants to figure this out myself.  So, instead of following a specific plan, I’m winging it.  The goal: complete a half marathon in 3.27 hours.  That’s about a 15 minute mile.  Right now I can do a 5k at an average speed of 11:30 min/mile with a combo of walking and running.  I just need to translate that to longer and longer distances.

I think I can handle running for 3 minutes and walking for 1 minute at a time.  I’ll do that during my training and plan to do it during my races too.

I’m only willing to run 3 days each week, so that’s what I’ll do.  My non-running days will be spent walking, doing strength training, hiking, or resting.  Maybe I’ll do some yoga too.

Each week I’ll increase my distance by 0.5 miles.  If I’m not up to an increase or if I do poorly one week, I’ll just repeat the previous week’s training.

My neighborhood is all hills… well, except for the street I’m on and the (very) busy street my apartment backs up to.  Even though hills are great for building muscle and training your body to work a little harder in a run, I’ll have to research different trails to drive my happy little butt too for some running.

Here’s to training to run 13.1 miles in Disneyland in January!

1 Comment

  1. You can do it! I think that is a very reasonable goal and it sounds like a good plan. I need to get my rear-end back in gear as well. Probably in July after all my June vacations are over…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • June 2011
    S M T W T F S
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives