On Hold: Superman Quilt

I was so excited to find my Superman fabric back in March during a Shop Hop.  I had even received a FREE pattern from a previous store that I thought would be perfect with it.  I carefully selected all of my fabrics and brought the treasures home.

This weekend I finally had time to cut and sew the top.  I followed the cutting directions, which said to fussy cut 12 blocks from the focus fabric and 12 blocks from the accent block fabric measuring 5.5 inches.  Then I cut the strips and squares for the “frames” around the blocks.  I learned how to make half-square triangles, and got those all together.

Then it came time to assemble the blocks with the focus and accent fabrics.  I discovered late Saturday night that the pattern really meant that I should cut 12 blocks from the focus fabric for each frame fabric that I will be using.  So, it really should have said 36 blocks.  I didn’t have enough Superman fabric to cut another 24 squares.

I was sooooo mad!  I looked back at the fabric requirements to make sure that I didn’t mis-read what I was supposed to buy.  Nope.  It said “enough focus fabric for 12 fussy cut squares”.  The cutting directions truly said “fussy cut 12 squares measuring 5.5 inches”.  ARGH!  And the quilt store I bought the fabric from doesn’t have any more!

I found the same fabric on eBay for $11/yard.  I don’t have another $100 to spend on special fabric, so I thought I’d look around for something that would blend with the rest of it.  Then I found fabric.com – they had the fabric I needed for $8/yard AND they had other Superman fabrics that would coordinate with it!  Plus, the coordinating fabric is printed in such a way that I could order less yardage and still get the right number of squares.  Score!  So I ordered 3 yards of 2 different coordinating fabrics and got free shipping because my order was over $35.  Double score!

So, the Superman quilt is on hold until I receive and wash the new fabric.  In the mean time I’m working on a stash-buster twister quilt.  If it turns out really nice, I’ll probably give it to someone as a Christmas gift.  The colors keep making me think of DH’s grandma, but I’ll have to see if I still think of her once it’s finished.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • July 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives