Weekly Recipe: Tagine Chicken with Quinoa and Stewed Vegetables

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to cook a recipe each week that I haven’t cooked before.  This week my new recipe is tagine chicken with quinoa and stewed vegetables.  I found both recipes on Allrecipes.com – it’s a great website to visit for inspiration.  I followed the recipe for tagine chicken pretty closely, and I just used the stewed veggies recipe as a jumping off point for what I actually made.

I had all of the ingredients for the tagine chicken except for the couscous.  So I stopped in at the grocery store to pick some up.  Upon looking at the box and reading the ingredients list, I realized that couscous is highly processed.  *sigh*  So I looked around for 100% whole grain couscous to no avail.  I’m sure it exists, but not in that particular grocery store.  Then I caught site of quinoa.  It seemed healthier than the couscous, so I bought it.  It was pretty good! The main dish was easy to make and made my house smell delicious!

Then I realized that I’d be feeding a bunch of people and there probably wasn’t enough without some kind of side dish, so I did a search for Vegetables on allrecipes.  I found the recipe for vegetable tagine and used it as the basis for the stewed veggies I actually made.  So, here’s what I did with those:

Moroccan Inspired Stewed Vegetables

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 4 carrots chopped
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped into medium-large pieces
  • 1 can sliced stewed tomatoes, low sodium if possible
  • 2 tbsp  tomato paste
  • 48 oz fat free, low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 15 oz can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • salt and pepper
  1. Heat the oil in a pot over medium heat.  Add onion, garlic and bell pepper.  Cook until onion is translucent.
  2. Add the carrots, potatoes, broccoli, tomatoes, tomato paste, chicken broth, coriander, cinnamon, garlic powder, turmeric, and cumin.  Bring to a boil and then simmer until potatoes and carrots are tender.
  3. Add the garbanzo beans, salt and pepper.  Simmer until the garbanzos are warmed through.  Serve.

This recipe makes PLENTY of food.  And it goes very far as a side dish.  You could make a vegetarian meal out of it if you put it over couscous or quinoa.

So here’s the downside.  I forgot to take a picture.  That means you don’t get to see all the yumminess for yourself.  You’ll just have to make it and see!  DH really liked it.  Our friends liked it too.  I liked that most of the ingredients didn’t have weird stuff in it.  I mean, the apricots in the chicken dish had a couple of ingredients that protect the color, and the canned stuff all had extra salt, but other than that it was real food.

I’d totally make this stuff again.

2 Comments

  1. YUM! I also made a tagine chicken dish last night – mine used dates. There is an awesome, inexpensive cookbook called “Tagine” if you like that kind of flavor – I find I “doctor” the recipies using them as a starting point and then adding veggies and whatnot based on what I have in my fridge at the time.

    Also, the couscous that comes in the single boxes tends to run into the trouble with “extra” in gredients in the seasoning packets that comes in them. I found organic whole wheat (plain) couscous with the pasta section in my grocery store (the seasoned single boxes were in another aisle with prepared foods). Hopefully that will help you find it! Quinoa is also fantastic and I never thought to try it with the tagine dishes….now I will!

    • I’ll have to check the cookbook out. It was pretty easy to make in my slow cooker, and I like to try new things.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • January 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives