June 2012 Project

I actually finished the quilt top last month. Then I stalled out on my sewing. I’m so used to sewing at the dining room table that when I moved my stuff upstairs it felt a bit foreign. One thing’s for sure though – when we buy a house, I’m getting a better table. The one upstairs is a folding plastic table from Costco. It vibrates way too much to work on consistently. Plus it’s at a weird height. Oh well. Enough about that. You’re here to see a quilt!

20120604-144719.jpg

I bought the fabric for the squares from a store that went out of business a couple months ago. The border was leftover fabric from the black/white/blue quilt I made for my friend B. This picture doesn’t do the colors justice. The green is a yellowy green but it’s definitely not dark.

20120604-145028.jpg

Again with the bad lighting – I apologize. I followed the same pattern as last month for the quilt I made for my boss’ new grandson but I used different fabrics this time. It ended up the same size too so I’ll keep it in my stash for the next person who has a new baby boy. And because I made it with babies in mind, the backing is flannel.

20120604-145445.jpg

There! This is much closer to the actual colors!

I did try fusible batting this time around. I don’t think I’ll use it again. It took twice as long to “baste” the quilt together as compared to my normal pin basting method. It also resulted in a very stiff quilt, which was challenging to quilt. Let’s hope the fusible stuff washes out all the way!

Either way, I’m pleased with the way this turned out.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • June 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives