Update

Believe it or not, I have been quilting.  I’ve just been too lazy to post the pictures I took of the quilts and quilt tops.

The other day I finished my first 100% Minky quilt.  Man, was that a challenge.  It turned out cute, but I doubt I’ll ever make one again.

I also planned out a scrap quilt made up of over 4,000 2.5″ half square triangles.  Yep.  Insane, right?  Even crazier? I started it. 

My brother unearthed the 3rd and 4th quilt tops I ever finished.  One is a bento box pattern done entirely in John Deere colored solids.  I’d forgotten how bright that yellow and green were – whew!  I’d also forgotten how HUGE that top is.  I think it’ll fit a full-sized bed.  I worry that I won’t be able to quilt it properly on my little Singer machine.

The other is a Hawaiian sampler quilt.  My in-laws brought back some Hawaiian quilt patterns for me in the early 2000s.  I picked out my 9 favorite patterns and experimented with applique.  It’s another bright top, done with hot pink, teal blue, bright yellow and bright green. I’d originally planned on making it into a duvet cover, but now I think it’ll just end up being another quilt. 

I finished a top that I’m calling the “guy quilt”.  It’s all done in brown, blue, and gray stripes and plaids.  I found a guitar fabric on sale that I was able to buy with my gift card, so I’ll probably use that on the back and give it to my father in law.

I completed my first patriotic quilt top.  The sample had a white background, with blue and red 2.5″ strips.  I decided to go with a light gray background, since several of the strips had white in them already.  It turned out pretty cute.  I found more of one of the red fabrics from the top to use on the back, and the binding will be blue fabric with red stars.

One of my coworkers is getting a black, white and eggplant quilt.  She’s so excited – especially since her backing fabric came in.  She knows it won’t be too much longer before she has a quilt to snuggle under in this rainy weather.

Another coworker gave me some black, white and red fabric from another friend who was giving up quilting.  I used some of that to complete another top.  That’ll be backed in a red flannel – cozy!

I also have another wall quilt top almost completed.  It’s all done in Asian fabrics.  I just need to applique some flowers into the corners and then quilt it all together.

So…  that’s what I’ve been up to on the quilting front.  Sorry – no pictures.  I’m just not feeling motivated to deal with the photo uploader on wordpress right now.

We also started the house buying process.  We’re pre-approved for a loan and even made an offer on a house.  We were outbid by all cash offers and people who were waiving the appraisal contingency. 😦  It’s a hot market for sellers right now in our area.  There are tons of offers on every house – even the ones that say “cash only.”  Many are going for $50k or more over asking price.  Oh well.  We’ll just keep saving and keep looking, right?

That’s it for now…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • December 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives